email sent July 14, 2015

Subject: Going In…
… or, The Journey Is the Destination

I’ll begin with yesterday’s CT scan results. I wasn’t apprehensive because of my performance in my oh-so-sophisticated high altitude climbing our house stairs challenge. But it’s always nice to get confirmation. Especially how things look for that errant, recently radiated intruder. The two old tumors are still small (one is barely visible) and unchanged. And the new irradiated one is much smaller. Woohoooo! Not only that, the electroacupuncture treatments that coincide with my infusion schedule have dramatically diminished the neuropathy in my hands and feet.

These scan results nicely jive with the theme of this email: the future. So… regarding my personal future, I’m good to go on the raft trip down the grandiose Colorado River. Arrrr, matey!!! I’m excited to begin 14 days of being a gravity junkie. It’s a commercial trip, meaning all of the essentials are taken care of by experienced river runners… everything from the rowing to guiding hikes to preparing all of the meals. Even better, I know about half of the fellow adventurers. Many thanks go to Bobbie who arranged it all and cajoled me into enrolling in this trip of a lifetime. My only regret is that neither Vicki (a veteran of this trip) nor Ned will be joining me.

John Muir captured my expectations when he wrote, “I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in.” My impending adventure is not without risk and challenges, but that’s okay… the journey promises to be the destination.

Steve Jobs had a fascinating take on the future. “You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.” His sentiments certainly resonate with me. For I’ve come to learn that if you chase the future you can never win. But, if you are to win, it’s by walking with it, side by side. (Or maybe just a half step behind.)

With continued love, gratitude and grand expectations for the future,

Jim

p.s. See? I told you last time that I could compose a short(er) message.

Leave a comment